This Charming Man

Dear Reader,

Last Friday I went to see the Yves Saint Laurent film after school. It was in French (I am in France, after all), and I don’t actually know if it has been (or will be) released in other countries. Therefore, I shall give you a brief plot summary before launching into an obsessive rant about the dresses/beautiful things. It is a biography drama that takes place between Saint Laurent’s time as Dior’s apprentice and the creation of his independent fashion house. It touches on his tumultuous relationship with his business partner/boyfriend Pierre (essentially a great deal of saucy scenes/rapid French), unstable mental health, and drug problems. All quite saddening, but despite his numerous problems, he was still able to create many lovely dresses. So many lovely dresses, in fact, that he revolutionized the rules of fashion, redefining the way a woman should (or could for that matter) dress. I wish that my issues would magically transform themselves into high-end, flippant dresses. Sadly they have yet to do this.

But ok the dresses. The dresses. They were crisp, groundbreaking, rosy, creased, and careless. They were hypnotic, silly, precise, but above all, complexly simple. He had an eye for clarity; his work was so uncomplicated yet captivating. There was this one scene where he took a strip of satin, wrapped it around his model’s waist in a very artistic and exquisite manner, and everyone was like ooooh yes all praise Yves we adore him bow down he is our king go Yves (myself included). He literally just wrapped some fabric around her body, but it was somehow so wonderful and beautiful. I do not understand.

Another scene I adored was when he found the inspiration for his famed Mondrian dress (pictured below).

Screen Shot 2014-02-01 at 3.51.52 PM

He was sitting in his apartment, sketching, when he suddenly rose, haphazardly rumaged through his bookshelf and found a book on Mondrian’s artwork. The scene then shifted to a photo shoot of two models posing confidently in similar boxy, geometric color-block dresses. There was something about their self-assuredness that implied a shift. Saint Laurent was done creating dresses for the reserved, straight-faced woman his previous models all had resembled/represented. The year was 1965 and that woman no longer existed. Feminism was emerging and women’s voices were finally being heard. They were no longer dressing for men but rather for themselves. His new customer/muse was confident, dimpled, and independent. She was happy.

I’d like to leave you with some of my favorite quotes from Yves Saint Laurent and a drawing he made for Vogue that maps out his favorite things. I will probably end up making one of these for myself sometime in the near future because it is just so delightful. Turns out we both love to say silly things, carpets, and the letter Y.

9311741013_8d23933f3d_o

Quotes:

“Genius is childhood recovered.”

“Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.”

“We must never confuse elegance with snobbery.”

“Isn’t elegance forgetting what one is wearing?”

“I love bows.”

and my personal favorite:

“I have always believed that fashion was not only to make women more beautiful, but also to reassure them, give them confidence.”

XO, The Girl in the Little Black Dress

Sidenote: Been feeling even more feminist lately. I now need to go write a feminist essay about Ophelia in Hamlet. Women for the win.

All photos from Polyvore. I take no credit.

About natalieslovelyblog

Natalie. 16. Fashion Blogger. natalieslovelyblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in All Posts, Fashion, Rants and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

50 Responses to This Charming Man

  1. I saw the movie a while ago, and I totally loved it. I’m a big fan of YSL and Pierre Bergé since forever, and I like that this “official” biography of the french designer is totally based on Bergé’s memories, mainly on his Lettres à Yves.

  2. My reaction first seeing this blog is… hmm not my type of reading. Then I read your article, interesting, then I saw your age 16, wow! Please keep writing, I can sense passion and love in your blog that’s why I follow yours, I read 3 article of you already will read more. You’re the 9th blog that I follow. :)

  3. lnwokolo says:

    I was actually in Paris when the film was advertised, and though I’m not particularly into fashion, I do remember thinking how interesting it would be to see it! I then promptly forgot about it and bought a ticket to Dallas Buyers Club instead!
    Thanks for the reminder, I think I’ll wait for it to come out in DVD since I doubt they’ll show it here in England :(

  4. crystaltots says:

    I enjoyed this on YSL.. I do love nice dresses especially the little black dresses…

  5. Very well written! Now, I want to draw a map of my favorite things, guess I’ll need to learn to draw them first. I can’t wait to see yours. I’d also like to read your paper on Ophelia, too. I’m writing a paper on King Lear from the Feminist perspective.

  6. Great read – just learned more than I probably would’ve ever known.

  7. Amazing!! Want to see it now. Xx

  8. lauraheying says:

    I just watched this! My favorite quote from the movie was at the beginning, in the press conference, when Yves said, “Every man needs aesthetic ghosts in order to live…” The film has absolutely beautiful imagery; I especially like the Morocco scenes.

  9. surprisebjg says:

    lovely blog! very fun and nice drawing love it.

  10. Reblogged this on Ace News Services 2014 and commented:
    #AWS2014

  11. tresjade says:

    Hi Natalie
    I would love to see that movie, but my search for it was unsuccessful. Goodness America, we must have some culture. This post was lovely, and Yves Saint Laurent is positively amazing and iconic. I do agree with you though, I must admit lately I have been feeling much like a feminist, albeit a very feminine one.

    http://jaadeee.wordpress.com/

  12. SOHO Lashes says:

    This film sounds absolutely delightful! I’ll have to see if I can’t find it for myself or to share with my fashion-savvy clients. Thanks for sharing!

  13. Sam G. says:

    You appear to be as passionate about dresses as art as I am about music as art! I also like your writing style and uses of adjectives especially.

  14. I saw the trailer with this and was really intrigued. I don’t know anything about YSL, so it’ll be a great movie to watch!

    Saskia

  15. Engaging…and so utterly inviting! Thank you Natalie

  16. dwaynelover says:

    Now I really want to see the movie :)

  17. Very elegant writing!, and I like your reference to the Smiths

  18. Katie says:

    Great post and I’m loving the drawing of his favorite things. I’m totally going to do that too!

  19. Angeltrinx says:

    Hi, this film sounds delightfully interesting thank you I will look out for this one.

  20. mytiturk says:

    I read two of your posts and your writing style and intelligence shine. Though I know zip about fashion, I enjoyed your portrait of St. Laurent for the way you made this movie come to life. Looking forward to reading more of your blog!

  21. vervainvixen says:

    Reblogged this on Modishly Lexx and commented:
    Good post- reblog reblog! :)

  22. The Piet Mondrian inspired dress looks absolutely gorgeous!
    Great post!

  23. I was looking forward to this movie but unfortunately the Moroccan government (I currently live there) has decided that the sexual preferences of Mr. Saint Laurent shown on screen are not decent enough for the Moroccan public Ugh! Actually double Ugh!! Especially since YSL did spend half of his adult life here in Marrakesh and Tangiers…We do have the chance though to visit his lovely legacy just around the corner. Great drawing, lovely blog!

  24. This film sounds brilliant, thanks for sharing.

  25. Ryan Leng says:

    Hi Natalie, You truly have a lovely blog, and you are a sensational writer. I look forward to your feminist reading of Ophelia. And should I need any sartorial advice, you’ll be the first person I ask. My main problem right now is keeping the creases in my slacks in the right place. I always manage to create a doppelgänger fold off-center, and it’s grinding my gears—but I reckon I can remedy that with youtube.

    And you pulled some great quotes here. Love the one about the supremacy of the woman wearing the dress over the dress itself. Good stuff.

  26. Always remember this quote especially, “Over the years I have learned that what is important in a dress is the woman who is wearing it.” …and you’ll never go out of style.

  27. I loved this piece and the movie traller. I would like to see this movie. :) YSL are the innitials of Yves St. Laurent. The letter could just as easily mean “ You should look” or ” You should listen” to me. “If I can’t express myself I’ll die.” This last is a Laurent quote. I have felt this way at times. Other times I have felt I will likely die because of my expression. :( Restaint also has its place. ~~~&~~~

  28. justaddtea says:

    I love the quotes! And I definitely need to see this movie, in French or otherwise! Thanks for sharing! It was a good inspiration for a Sunday. I kinda want to make a map of the things I like now, too.

  29. I am enjoying your posts! I tool like YSL but have to admit my favorite is Louis Vuitton – smile. While becoming minimalistic, I do like quality over quantity. Keep up the great work!

  30. Dear bloger, you’re blog is really cool, I love it.
    Kiss xx

    http://itsallabouthapiness.wordpress.com/

  31. KhoaSinclair says:

    I can’t wait to see that film! Very excited!

  32. skullwoman says:

    My older sister had the Mondrian dress. It looked good on anyone that wore it. I would love to have it now, it’s so classic

  33. Wow, that sounds like a good movie!

  34. musicrowgirl says:

    I love fashion so much and I enjoy your writing style :D <3

  35. Glad to have found your lovely blog, Natalie!

  36. dalecooper57 says:

    Love that Mondrian dress

  37. catsholiday says:

    I love the map drawing – wish I was arty I would do my own!

  38. sudebaker says:

    That last quote is the best one :)

  39. I learned from you today. Thank you. You and your writing are both impressive.

  40. natasha2mc says:

    This is brilliantly written. Genuine pleasure to read your posts on here. Good luck being the next fashion God (or Goddess, whichever term you prefer you crazy feminist you ;) )

  41. My favourite is the first! I believe it applies to every form of art.

  42. lenorelook says:

    Very inspiring! Thanks for sharing! Have you seen the Chanel movie starring Shirley Maclain? Also inspiring and full of saucy quotes!

  43. Katy Gilmore says:

    Oh I want to see this movie (with subtitles!) – your wonderful description makes it sound so perfectly amazing – full of creativity and beauty – is it half as charming as your sentences about the dresses?! My favorites: “They were crisp, groundbreaking, rosy, creased, and careless. They were hypnotic, silly, precise, but above all, complexly simple.” Thank you!

  44. janeybgood says:

    I would love to see this, thanks for this!

Leave a Reply

