Embrace Your Inner Mermaid

Diane von Furstenberg Fall/Winter 2014 Review

Dear Reader,

So I look at this dress and I see a Georgia O’Keefe-inspired flowery effect. Which I love. Actually while I’m at it I think I am going to list all of the things I love about this dress. I love the subdued, autumnal color palette and the ballerina-esque wrap sweater (a style von Furstenberg is well-known for). I love the two ribbons that slip down from the aforementioned sweater. I love the seashell patches around the neckline. And I love love love the strappy golden shoes. I love all of these things I promise you.

Image

Also, at the end of the show, Diane von Furstenberg made her appearance wearing a dress with a similar Georgia O’Keefe-esque print. She is the epitome of lovely.

Image

 This dress reminds me of curtains. And before you assume that this is a bad thing let me assure you it most certainly is not. The fabric looks like those fancy ornate drapes that you see in mansions which lace and butlers and such. I blame the rich emerald and scarlet accents. And then there is the fantastic blue fur purse that I very much want.

Image

Ok so by now you are probably all like Natalie you need to stop with all of your Project Runway references and whatnot but I CANT STOP ITS A PROBLEM AND MAYBE I DONT WANT TO STOP I DONT THINK I WILL. It’s just every time I see a dress with waves on it, I think of Leanne Marshall, the Season 5 Winner, and her glorious wave skirts. Actually this dress doesn’t even look like any of Leanne’s pieces, but thats ok because its just as pretty. I love the inconsistency of the pattern.

Image

 I have a maxi skirt/dress obsession that has blossomed over the course of a year. I remember being very much off the band wagon when the trend first began; now I cannot resist the boho, ankle-grazing style. I find it very elegant. And whats more, the length elongates the body and kind of makes one feel/look like a mermaid, so what’s not to love, really. I very much enjoy the symmetric wave pattern at the top of this maxi dress. Mostly because it is intricate, but also a lot because it helps exude mermaid vibes hehe.

Image

 XO, The Girl in the Little Black Dress

P.S. Comment your favorite look

About natalieslovelyblog

Natalie. 16. Fashion Blogger. natalieslovelyblog.wordpress.com
This entry was posted in All Posts, Fashion, Runway Reviews and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

36 Responses to Embrace Your Inner Mermaid

  1. Tali says:

    I love the last look, maxi powerful and so effortless blue dress!

  2. LaDonna says:

    I like the blue maxi dress and the first dress featured.

  3. Love the little black dress and boots, as well as the blue maxi dress! Great post!

  4. I pretty much feel Diane von Furstenberg can do no wrong, who else could get me to embrace my inner mermaid? That is not an easy sell.

  5. O’Keefe & Diane Von Furstenburg what a lovely combination of inspirational women artists. Her designs are so beautiful & so much more than her iconic wrap dress. All of the looks you posted are fun & I like your comments. Good job & lovely blog!!

  6. Chelsea Wallace says:

    Hi Natalie!

    I love your blog! The pictures make everything so engaging and it’s obvious you love what you’re talking about :) Oh, the first and last dresses are my favorites ) I love the depth of the colors in the first dress, and the style is my kind of thing; and I just love anything blue and long :) .

    Chelsea

  7. Julie Phelps says:

    I hereby admit you are the only “fashion” blog I actually like. I am not a fashionista, at all. At the age of 67 I very rarely wear a dress because I simply choose not to. Actually, I don’t currently have one. I have TWO skirts, which, until now, have sufficed (funerals and/or very serious appointments).
    Then I arrived at your blog here and saw the Diane Von Furstenburg collection…
    Perhaps – just PERHAPS – I might change my mind about buying a dress to wear for own nuptials later this year. If I do – IF I do – I will give the credit to you. Thanks :)

  8. alpacamade says:

    I agree with you regarding the two dresses featuring royal blue waves; they are both fantastic. You may see that pattern work its way into something of mine sooner or later.

  9. I think I liked Diane’s dress best… xxx

  10. Stunning designs. Thanks for sharing.

  11. sandradan1 says:

    Natalie,I love this DvF dress, I have a couple of hers from a few years ago and still love them. SD

  12. Scarleth says:

    Hello! I have nominated you for “Shine On and Versatile Blogger Award” please follow the link for more info http://helloscar.wordpress.com/2014/03/21/shine-on-versatile-blogger-awards/ Congratulations!!!

  13. I love the dresses! They are so pretty, cool, and creative. That last one was my favorite.

  14. slpuckett says:

    I love ALL OF THEM. REQUIRE.

  15. I thought emeralds were green? (: Great article though! Very interesting.

  16. Kortina says:

    i am completely smitten with the cobalt blue maxi dress! i need it in my life like now! :-)

  17. Tish Farrell says:

    Hi Natalie, I must say that your title for this post is simply brilliant. In fact great writing all round. Love your infectious enthusiasm and nifty turn of phrase.

  18. abbie marrie says:

    in love with that dark blue dress

  19. Juliet says:

    I’m loving the mermaid look. And your writing is refreshing to me. Something I thought I’d never read – a blog on fashion…. But somehow I just feel happy when your blog posts appear in my inbox. Well done!

  20. kristensehn says:

    I love Diane von Furstenberg’s prints! Great collection

    Kristen
    http://thewomaninthedress.com

  21. Pat(ricia) says:

    Natalie – I’ve just recently started following your blog – and I find it and you, quite fascinating! Well done on obviously taking a passion and interest and sharing it with the world in quite the unique fashion ;)

    I quite agree – the “Mermaid Dress” is really elegant -the colors and upper body details are spectacular -and it speaks waves :)

  22. jethroda20sumpin says:

    My favourite? It’s got to be the dress with the waves. Great optical effect, would also look good in a casual setting outdoors.

  23. Ashley says:

    I love the last look, very vibrant and classic with a twist.

  24. I like maxis too – the one you show here is really nice. And it’s wonderful to see Ms. von Furstenberg! Admiration for her clothes is partly what got me into designing and sewing.

  25. Cute!!! I LOVE them! The bright jeweled-tones are so chic. I think the last one might be my favorite though.

  26. I absolutely LOVE the first dress. That one is so perfect for so many occasions.

  27. picklefish29 says:

    Oh, my, I love that last one! What a gorgeous color!

  28. hairapparentuk says:

    The last image – the cut and the colour, as simple as that! x

  29. My favorite….the last model in the blue maxi dress. Like you, I have an obsession with the maxi and this one is beautiful and elegant!

  30. ndieckman says:

    I love love love the first one too! Of course art inspired fashion plus a hint of ballerina wins for me. :-)

  31. That top dress is so gorgeous! I would LOVE to wear it!! So beautiful and dynamic with the print, colors and design!!

  32. Polly says:

    Oh! What a glorious post. I love, love, love that final photo, the gorgeous tulip shape, it’s almost empire line with that detail at the top – fabulous :)

  33. Shae says:

    The black one with blue frills and the blue maxi dress!

    http://www.notapaperdoll.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

